Article 7

October 26, 2018

NAHC Honors Entire Board of Directors for Historic Efforts

The National Association for Home Care and Hospice honored the entire Board of Directors at the recent 2018 Home Care and Hospice Conference and Expo in Grapevine, Texas by inducting each member into the Home Care & Hospice Hall of Fame.

The creation of NAHC 2.0, a home care and hospice trade association equipped for the 21st century and capable of being the premier advocate and unified voice for the entire industry, has been a job too big for any one man or woman. Instead, this process has been overseen by NAHC President William A. Dombi and the entire Board of Directors, led by Chair Denise Schrader.

Considering the vast progress NAHC has made towards its goal of being the advocate every person in home care and hospice deserves, the decision was made to surprise the entire Board with induction into the Home Care and Hospice Hall of Fame.

The plaque, which now hangs on the wall in the boardroom of the third floor of NAHC headquarters in Washington, D.C., lists the name of every Board member and reads:

On this 8th day of October, 2018, we induct the 2018 Board of Directors of the National Association for Home Care & Hospice into the Home Care and Hospice Hall of Fame for their unprecedented efforts to guide NAHC through a challenging, complex, and difficult period. Through their commitment, creativity, and leadership, they have ensured that NAHC will endure and succeed as a member-driven association for the home care and hospice communities.

Denise Schrader Melanie Keller Neal Reizer
Shelly Barrett Jane Kelly Brittnei Salerno
Ellen Bolch Brent Korte Ed Schulte
Walter W. Borginis III Lisa Jean Long Mark Sharp
David Causby Tarrah Lowry-Schreiner Charley Shimanski
Ruth L. Constant, Ed.D. Richard MacMillan Emilie Smith
Maria de Lourdes De Leon Rosa Karen Marshall Thompson Mary Suther
Karen Goetchius Tom J. Moreland Carla Trout
Mary Myers Rod Windley Anne-Marie Peckham

Board Chair Denise Schrader was also honored specifically for her immense contributions to NAHC and the entire home care and hospice community.

Mary Suther introduced Ruth Constant — both former Board chairs — and honored her with the Val J. Halamandaris Award for Caring, Innovation, and Inspiration.

Ron Everly, a NAHC employee for over 30 years and manager of exhibit sales, was honored with the Outstanding Service Award. Ron retired soon after the 2018 Home Care and Hospice Conference and Expo and while all of us at NAHC will miss him greatly, we wish him nothing but the best in his retirement.